Read ☆ Fruit of the Drunken TreePDF by Æ Ingrid Rojas Contreras ↠ – anguillais.us

Fruit of the Drunken Tree SpellbindingThe thrum of mystery and danger haunts every page, and you won t be able to look away until you turn the last one Cristina Henriquez, author of The Book of Unknown Americans In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990 s Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them bothThe Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogota, safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the country Seven year old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to this protective bubble, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation When their mother hires Petrona, a live in maid from the city s guerrilla occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona s mysterious ways But Petrona s unusual behavior belies than shyness She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the rip tide of first love pulls her in the opposite direction As both girls families scramble to maintain stability amidst the rapidly escalating conflict, Petrona and Chula find themselves entangled in a web of secrecy that will force them both to choose between sacrifice and betrayal Inspired by the author s own life, and told through the alternating perspectives of the willful Chula and the achingly hopeful Petrona, Fruit of the Drunken Tree contrasts two very different, but inextricable coming of age stories In lush prose, Rojas Contreras sheds light on the impossible choices women are often forced to make in the face of violence and the unexpected connections that can blossom out of desperation. New Download Books Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras – anguillais.us

Read ☆ Fruit of the Drunken TreePDF by Æ Ingrid Rojas Contreras ↠ – anguillais.us
  • Paperback
  • 320 pages
  • Fruit of the Drunken Tree
  • Ingrid Rojas Contreras
  • English
  • 01 October 2018
  • 0525434313

    10 thoughts on “Read ☆ Fruit of the Drunken TreePDF by Æ Ingrid Rojas Contreras ↠ – anguillais.us


  1. says:

    No matter who we are, what are race, religion, socio economic background, we share some basic emotions and feelings Fear, joy, love, jealousy, anger, sadness and hope are some of those emotions and feelings What makes us different is our reaction to those feelings and the situations that brought about them.Ingrid Rojas Contreras s debut novel, Fruit of the Drunken Tree, takes us to the South American country of Colombia during the extremely violent and turbulent 1990 s when drug lord, Pablo No matter who we are, what are race, relig...


  2. says:

    4 stars to Fruit of the Drunken Tree When I saw Fruit of the Drunken Tree compared to Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, I knew it was a must read for my list Ingrid Rojas Contreras debut is set in Colombia in the 1990s It is focused on the Santiago family living in Bogota in a gated community Gates are necessary because of the extreme political unrest in the country at the time While the children are insulated from the world, just outside those protective bars are kidnappi 4 stars to Fruit of the Drunken Tree When I saw Fruit of the Drunken Tree compared to Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, I knew it was a must read for my list Ingrid Rojas Contreras debut is set in Colombia in the 1990s It is focused on the Santiago family living in Bogota in a gated community Gates are necessary because of the extreme political unrest in the country at the time While the children are insulated from the world, just outside those protective bars are kidnappings, bombings, and other violence, all at the hands and orders of a drug lord named Pablo Escobar A new housekeeper, Petrona, is hired by the mother, Chula Santiago, and Petrona has been living in a guerrilla occupied slum Petrona is overburdened working to care for her family, while also being pulled by love to the wrong side, the dangerous side Both Chula and Petrona s families are seeking stability and safety in a time of outright upheaval and abject terror The author was...


  3. says:

    NOW AVAILABLE First of all I think I m in love with the cover of this book, what gorgeous color and pop this cover has However the seeds from the Drunken Tree were used in making a very dangerous drug called burundanga used by many criminals in Bogota Victims who reported being drugged with burundanga woke up with no memory of sometimes assisting in the looting of their own apartments and bank accounts, opening their wallets and handing over everything, but that s exactly what they had d NOW AVAILABLE First of all I think I m in love with the cover of this book, what gorgeous color and pop this cover has However the seeds from the Drunken Tree were used in making a very dangerous...


  4. says:

    Library Overdrive Audiobook.narrated byMarisol Ramirez Almarie who was sooooooo outstanding.I had visions of bright changing colored fireworks in the sky Her voice was perfect flawless for this incredible magnificent Latin American novel Once I started this Audiobook testing my ass , I literally did not want to stop being in this world We my buddy iPhone audiobook , and I, made the bed, folded laundry, took a 90 minute walk, rode the bike in the house, did stretching e Library Overdrive Audiobook.narrated byMarisol Ramirez Almarie who was sooooooo outstanding.I had visions of bright changing colored fireworks in the sky Her voice was perfect flawless for this incredible magnificent Latin American novel Once I started this Audiobook testing my ass , I literally did not want to stop being in this world We my buddy iPhone audiobook , and I, made the bed, folded laundry, took a 90 minute walk, rode the bike in the house, did stretching exercises, cut cauliflower asparagus chicken to saut ate spent a couple hours cleaning the guest room which includedwash sweeping hosing down the patio r...


  5. says:

    Ok truth I added this one based on its title Oh yes I did The reality is, its flower, if consumed, can make one act as silly as a drunk and eventually poison it s victim Enough said This is a story of a relationship between a girl and her maid In the background, the civil war rages in Columbia Pablo Escobar reigning terror over the country The impact is devastating Until it moves to the forefront and the little tranquility known for this family disappears and in its place the violence Ok truth I added this one based on its title Oh yes I did The reality is, its flower, if consumed, can make one act as silly as a drunk and eventually poison it s ...


  6. says:

    Sometimes we are drawn to books by the cover, by the name, or even just the description Well, it could also be the author too But when I saw the name of this book, I was hooked I knew I wanted to read it Then, I saw it was about Columbia and Pablo Escobar and I immediately went to my library to grab it It tells the story of one family living in Bogota and their maid Oh yeah, and in the world of Pablo Escobar The story alternates between the young girl in the family, Chula, and their live Sometimes we are drawn to books by the cover, by the name, or even just the description Well, it could also be the author too But when I saw the name of this book, I was hooked I knew I wanted to read it Then, I saw it was about Columbia and Pablo Escobar and I immediately went ...


  7. says:

    Instagram Twitter FacebookPinterestI wonder about Goodreads users sometimes People will pile on to heap praises about one book in particular while utterly ignoring brilliant contributions to the literary canon like this I almost didn t read this book because it was such a wild card and I am so glad I did not do that In many ways, FRUIT OF THE DRUNKEN TREE explores similar themes to other women centered works of literary fiction like GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER or HOMEGOING The Instagram Twitter FacebookPinterestI wonder about Goodreads users sometimes People will pile on to heap praises about one book in particular while utterly ignoring brilliant contributions to the literary canon like this I almost didn t read this book because it was such a wild card and I am so glad I did not do that In many ways, FRUIT OF THE DRUNKEN TREE explores similar themes to other women centered works of literary fiction like GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER or HOMEGOING The book is set in Colombia in the early 1990s, when the cocaine lord...


  8. says:

    Buddy read in group Reading for Pleasure, review to follow when buddy read over 4 stars for story3 stars for prose 3.5 stars overall


  9. says:

    Reviewing this book is particularly tough because despite really enjoying this, there remains this niggling feeling it could have been sensational if Contreras had worked out a few kinks first before embarking on such an ambitious debut That may not be a fair criticism since writers need to start somewhere, right However, the meat of this story has so much potential that I was a little disappointed it didn t all work seamlessly Despite these misgivings I am convinced The Fruit of the Drunken Reviewing this book is particularly tough because despite really enjoying this, there remains this niggling feeling ...


  10. says:

    Find all of my reviews at can t believe I m the first of my Goodreads friends to have read this It seems like it was everywhere for a minute And honestly As soon as I saw the words I was in What can I say I m a cheap sell and my husband won t wait for me when it comes to Netflix so there s no chance I can keep up with Narcos to get my Pablo Escobar fix Now that I m finished It wasn t at all what I was expecting since I didn t read the way Find all of my reviews at can t believe I m the first of my Goodreads friends to have read this It seems like it was everywhere for a minute And honestly As soon as I saw the w...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *